What sweets in the UK are vegan?

What sweets in the UK are vegan?

With Veganuary in full swing, and with half of the UK population choosing to reduce their animal product intake, the question every one is asking, is 'what are some vegan friendly sweets?' and it is a question we get asked all of the time because who doesn't love the occasional sweet snack!?

Living a vegan lifestyle doesn't mean you have to miss out on your favourite sweets, in fact, many of the classic sweets you know and love are vegan friendly.

If you’ve recently started a plant based diet, or have friends or family members who are vegan, its important that you any sweets you gift them are truly vegan and gelatine and animal product free, so we thought we'd share a few of the best vegan sweets out there. Remember, vegan sweet gifts should not contain animal derivatives, by-products or be tested on animals.

Indulge yours, or a loved ones, sweet tooth with the best vegan sweets available! Whether you're a longtime vegan or just exploring plant-based options, there's a delightful range of vegan-friendly treats to satisfy your cravings. Here's a curated list of the top picks for the ultimate vegan sweet experience.

Vegan sweets

Candy Kittens:

Dive into the luscious world of Candy Kittens, where every sweet is made with real fruit juice and is completely vegan. The delicious peach fizz is a must-try! (No gelatine and no palm oil)

Jelly Tots:

Satisfy your sweet cravings with Rowntrees' Jelly Tots, proudly displaying a clear vegan message on their packaging. These vegan-friendly jelly sweets are a classic treat.

Drumstick Chews:

Experience the chewy goodness of Swizzels Drumstick Chews, a timeless favourite across generations. Enjoy the classic dual flavour with the reassurance that it's entirely vegan.

Jealous Sweets:

Elevate your sweet experience with Jealous Sweets, a plant-based confectionery brand offering of vegan gummy sweets. From grapefruit and peach gummy fizzy friends to grizzly bears, indulge in a variety of fruity flavours.


Rejoice in the vibrant and juicy flavours of Starburst, knowing that these sweets are entirely vegan. Treat yourself to the burst of fruity goodness.

Refresher Bars:

Refresh your taste buds with Swizzels Refresher Bars, now updated with a vegan-friendly recipe. The fruity chew bar is perfect for a sweet, tangy sensation.

Parma Violets:

Enjoy the fragrant and unique flavour of Parma Violets, a classic sweet that's perfect for both vegans and vegetarians.

Love Hearts:

Express your love with the classic romantic sweet, Love Hearts. These vegan sweets are a thoughtful gesture for Valentine's Day or any special occasion.

Love Hearts


Delight in the rainbow of flavours that Skittles offer, without worrying about any animal-derived ingredients. Skittles are proudly vegan, making them a perfect treat for everyone.

Vimto chew bars

If you're missing the refreshing fruity taste of vimto, there's no need to worry as vimto chew bars are 100% vegan!

Packed with plenty of flavour these bars are made with real fruit juice and make the perfect sweet snack. (Even if they are a bit chewy!)

Fruit pastilles

Another vegan sweet made by Rowntree which i'm sure you'll be pleased you don't need to miss out on, is Fruit Pastilles.

These jelly sweets come in five colourful flavours that have no artificial colours or flavourings in.

Stinger Bar

It's it bright yellow packaging that makes this sweet stand out, but did you also know that the stinger bar is also vegan too?

The stinger bar is a fruit flavoured chew bar with a fizzy centre.


Millions are tiny sweets that come in a tube. From blue to pink there's a whole range of colours and flavours.

These sweets are vegan as they contain no products derived from animals, so you can still enjoy these fun little sweets.


Non vegan ingredients to look out for

When exploring the world of vegan sweets, it's crucial to be aware of non-vegan ingredients that may be present in some confections. Keep an eye out for the following ingredients, as they are derived from animals or may involve animal exploitation.


A common ingredient in many sweets, gelatine is derived from animal collagen. Look for gelatine-free alternatives to ensure your sweets are vegan.

Milk and dairy Products:

Ingredients such as milk powder, whey, and casein are derived from dairy and are not vegan. Check for plant-based alternatives like soy, almond, or coconut milk.


While a natural sweetener, honey is produced by bees, and some vegans choose to avoid it due to ethical concerns. Opt for sweets sweetened with alternatives like agave syrup or maple syrup.

Bees Wax

Used to coat sweets, like Jelly Beans, to give them their shiny appearance, beeswax is an animal product to look out for.


What ingredients are vegan friendly?

Any product which is created using purely plants, including fruit, nuts and seeds, is vegan friendly. Plant-based oils like olive oil and coconut oil, along with dairy alternatives like almond milk and soy milk, are commonly embraced in vegan products.


Other vegan friendly sweets

Love Hearts Dip

Swizzel Fizzers


Check out the Sweet Hamper Company’s range of vegan friendly vegan sweet hampers, sweet gifts and more here.